Last updated: July 25. 2014 9:31AM - 1109 Views
By - npilling@civitasmedia.com

Greene County Sheriff Gene Fischer recognizes Supervisor of the Year, Sgt. David Jones.
Greene County Sheriff Gene Fischer recognizes Supervisor of the Year, Sgt. David Jones.
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

XENIA — The Greene County Sheriff’s Office recently held a ceremony recognizing employees of the agency who have gone above and beyond in performing their duties in the past year. The annual ceremony was held July 17.

“Throughout the year every year a lot of the guys do a lot of good work,” Greene County Sheriff Gene Fischer said. “We need to recognize these guys for what they do.”

Maj. Kirk Keller was one such employee who was recognized during the ceremony. Keller was recognized in the following ways: the Attendance Award, recognition for the Physical Fitness Challenge, a commendation, a Citation of Merit and a Leadership Ribbon.

“For myself – as well as all the employees – to be appreciated for work that you have done is always a nice thing,” he said. “Overall as an agency it’s a good time when we can celebrate what each other have done.”

The Distinguished Service Award was given for the first time this year to eight individuals who were involved in a six-hour active shooter situation in Yellow Springs last summer.

“Those employees were in the line of fire … and yet maintained their position to keep the individual shooting at them … contained in an area,” Keller said. “They had voluntarily put their lives in jeopardy to hold that perimeter until reinforcements showed up. That Distinguished Service Award was very, very special as a part of that night for those guys to be recognized for the work that they did.”

“Lots of times we hear the public saying what we do wrong in law enforcement,” Fischer said. “So if they do something that’s above and beyond, and you’re recognized by other people then it’s time that we also pass that recognition on.”

The following awards were issued at the ceremony:

Citizen Recognition – Dr. Paul Stull

Attendance Award – Issued to employees who have not called in sick to work for the calendar year. – Brian Voskuhl, Josh Campbell, Beth Prall, Howard Wooten, Robert Fitzgerald, Matt Walters, Rick Bowman, Dan Funk, Kirk Keller, Karen Hall, Ben Stewart, Jon Emery, Melinda Henger, Robin Hites, Diane Snell

Military Service Recognition – A red, white and blue uniform ribbon issued to employees who serve or have served in the defense of the country as a member of any branch of the military while employed at the Greene County Sheriff’s Office. – Glen Warner, Al Smith, Eric Linkhart, Robert Martin, Jay Lovingshimer, Nick O’Diam

Physical Fitness Challenge – A new program of recognition dedicated to the encouragement of physical fitness for the agency. – Kyle Metz, Dennis Nipper, Kirk Keller, Rick Bowman, Jon Emery, Amy Cook, Mark Tackett, Angela Hart, Jimmy Hughes, Dan Funk, Traci Draughn

Commendations – Donna Dempsy, Kyle Metz, Dennis Nipper, Kirk Keller, Brad Balonier, Jason Davis, Dan Funk, Scott Phillips, Sherman Thatcher, Martin Johnson, Deborah Jordan, Kathy Geyer

Blue Coat – Issued to a deputy who performed an act or showed leadership that enhanced the mission of the Greene County Sheriff’s Office. – Brad Balonier

Support Personnel of the Year – Award based on the performance and involvement by the employee in the betterment of the mission of the agency. The employee must have a good attendance record and assist in moving the agency forward toward its goals. – Kim Stamper, Janet Lorents

Corrections Officer of the Year – The officer must show dedication to the position, exhibit good moral character and advance the mission of the office. The officer must have a good attendance record, a good evaluation while performing in a professional manner and must work for the betterment of the agency and the community. – Jeremy Moore

Deputy of the Year – The deputy must show dedication to the position, exhibit good moral character and advance the mission of the Greene County Sheriff’s Office. The deputy must have a good attendance record and must have received a good evaluation. – Robin Hites

Supervisor of the Year – The award is to be based on service to the betterment of the office and leadership of assigned personnel. The supervisor should show good motivational abilities and management skills among those working around him or her. – David Jones

Yellow Springs Recognition – Distinguished Service Ribbon issued for actions during the July 30, 2013 standoff in Yellow Springs. – Dennis Nipper, Duane Gilbert, David Wical, Glen McKinney, Dan Funk, Sean Kessel, Jimmy Hughes, Shawn Prall

Citation of Merit – Issued for meritorious efforts while demonstrating outstanding professionalism. – Donna Dempsey, Matt Walters, William Coe, Kirk Keller, Mike Brown

Commendation – Beth Prall, Chris Moore, David Tidd

Leadership Ribbon – Issued to individuals who demonstrate leadership capabilities that move the agency and its mission forward. – Shawn Prall, Kirk Keller, Rick Bowman, Doreen Goodman, Jim Combs, Debbie Moyer

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Fairborn Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com