Burba nabs Kil-Kare win

July 8, 2014

XENIA — Kil-Kare Raceway ran a full program of NASCAR Whelen All-American Series, Friday night.

The late models took to the track for their feature with Tyler Mahaffey leading the first four laps. That’s when Bill Burba put his Platinum Express Chevrolet out front. Burba went on to victory lane for the fourth time this season. Brandon Oakley was second after being fast qualifier. Cody Robinson was third, with heat race winner Don Mahaffey fourth. Heat winner Arlis Williams finished fifth.

The modifieds lined up next. Mike Carroll put his Charlie Goins-built car out front at the start and put his McDonald’s backed ride in the winner’s circle. Bob Sibila was second with Zack Stacy, Jamie Sites and Grant Gamble rounding out the top five. Carroll won the dash with Stacy as fast qualifier.

In street stock action, Jim Lewis, Jr. was out front when the checker flew after getting by early leader David Stump. Chad Brandeberry won the dash with Marcus Melzer taking the heat win. Points leader Sites set quick time.

The compact feature was one of the best races of the night. Current points leader Bill Honious and Tony Cottrill battled side by side after passing leader Kevin McCoy. The race was a heart breaker for McCoy who led up to lap 18 . Honious emerged the victor with Cottrill second, McCoy third, Nicholas fourth and Davey Shaw fifth.

School bus racing returns Friday along with the NASCAR Whelens All-American Series late models, modifieds, street stocks and compacts. It is also Dayton Auto Racing Fans club (DARF) night with free admission to the grandstands only, for those with a paid-up membership card.

Story and photo by Earl Isaacs/ Isaacs Photography.