Skyhawks claim D-I sectional championship

By Zachary Gregory Staff Writer

March 1, 2014

DAYTON —The Fairborn Skyhawks are Division I sectional champions, after Friday night’s 59-54 win over New Carlisle Tecumseh at UD Arena.

It was a tale of two underdogs when the Fairborn Skyhawks faced the Tecumseh Arrows.

Fairborn, who came into the night winning 10 in a row, had upset no. 3 seed Beavercreek in their previous game. The Skyhawks came back from 10 down to win 56-53. The Arrows similarly have won nine of their last 10, and upset no. 4 seed Springfield, 68-55, in their previous matchup.

Both teams came out showcasing their shooting skills. They traded threes in the opening quarter, Fairborn hit three in the first and Tecumseh drained four. The score was tied at 13 with just over four second left in the quarter, when Tecumseh sophomore Malik Quisenberry hit a halfcourt buzzer-beater just before the horn.

The hot shooting continued into the second quarter. Both teams combined for a total of 13 three-pointers in the opening half, and Fairborn led 32-23 at the break.

The Arrows came out in the second half playing more physical and slowing the pace. They caused multiple turnovers and cut the Fairborn lead to two with just over four minutes in the third quarter, leading to a Fairborn timeout with the score at 37-35.

Jordan Michael came out on the ensuing play and hit a three pointer to stop some of Tecumseh’s momentum. Michael had 17 points at halftime and 21 for the game. Senior Malik Jacobs had 16 points.

Fairborn will now face Cincinnati Moeller, Friday’s 55-42 winner over Liberty Township Lakota East, in the District semifinal. Tipoff is set for 7 p.m. March 8 at Xavier University’s Cintas Center.

(Due to our deadline, this is a partial report from Friday’s game. Please visit www.fairborndailyherald.com for the full story.)