Last updated: February 08. 2014 1:00AM - 540 Views

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

FAIRBORN — The Educational Outreach Office at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base will sponsor the FIRST LEGO League Ohio State Championship Tournament at the Ervin J. Nutter Center, on the campus of Wright State University, Feb. 8-9.

The annual event will bring together teams of some of Ohio’s brightest 9- to 14 year-old students who will demonstrate their engineering and problem-solving skills, critical thinking, teamwork, competitive play, sportsmanship, and sense of community.

Thirty-six teams from across the state will compete in this two-day event. Local teams participating are: The Brickheads, Ohio Youth Robotics, Xenia; Psyclones, Beavercreek Neighborhood Group; The Avengers & The Brainy Bunch, Springboro Robotics; The Wacko WACO Walking Tacos, Waco Historical Society; Bananas, Dayton Home School Group; STEMBotics, Dayton Regional STEM School.

On Feb. 8, teams will participate in closed-door judging, where they will meet with three panels of judges who will judge their teamwork, robot design and research project. The judging portion of the competition is not open to the public.

On Feb. 9, robot table competitions will run on the main floor of the Nutter Center from 9 a.m. until 2 p.m. The competition is free and open to the public.

Along with the FLL Ohio State Championship, a Junior FIRST LEGO (Jr.FLL) Expo, a design and build program for small teams of children between the ages of six and nine, and a FIRST Tech Challenge (FTC) scrimmage, a robotics competition program for high school students, will be held. Twenty Jr.FLL teams from around the state will show off their Super Seniors solutions through their LEGO models and their research posters from 9 a.m. until noon, and ten FTC teams from Dayton, Cincinnati, Columbus and will scrimmage from 9 a.m. until 2 p.m.

Since 1988, FIRST (For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology), an organization founded by inventor Dean Kamen to inspire young people’s interest and participation in science and technology and the LEGO Group have partnered to challenge youth teams who use LEGO bricks, motors, gears and software to design and build robots to solve real-world engineering challenges.

“The Air Force Research Laboratory at Wright-Patterson has been affiliated with FIRST LEGO, since 2001, and has been the lead organization for the program in Ohio since that time,” said Kathy Levine, state FIRST LEGO League Director and Educational Outreach Office Robotics Program Manager at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base. “It is our mission to excite and inspire children to aim high, to strive for excellence, and to pursue science and math educational opportunities and careers.”

“The FLL Ohio State Championship follows 21 regional qualifying and four district qualifying events from around the state where more than 400 Ohio teams competed from November through January,” Levine said.

The FLL Ohio State Championship is sponsored by Wright-Patterson Air Force Base Educational Outreach; the Wright State University College of Engineering and Computer Science; the Ohio Educational Outreach Foundation; Teradata, Rockwell Automation, Battelle, Dayton Operations; and American Society of Mechanical Engineers, Dayton Section. Federal endorsement of sponsors is not intended.

For more information about the championship tournament and the Ohio FIRST LEGO League program, visit http://edoutreach.wpafb.af.mil/ohfll.html.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Fairborn Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com